The Vaucluse department forms part of the Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur. It borders the departments of Gard in the West, Ardèche in the North West, Drôme in the North, the Alpes-de-Haute-Provence in the East, Var (a few hundred meters barely ) and south of the Rhone delta. The Prefecture of Vaucluse, Avignon, is nicknamed the City of Popes since it hosted the papacy from 1309 to 1423. Its old medieval center and its famous bridge are ranked on the list of UNESCO World Heritage. Avignon The city is also well known for its important theater festival that takes place every year for over 50 years. Vaucluse The department consists of a breathtaking diversity ranging from mountains to the Great Plains. This diversity has enabled the rich fauna and flora Vauclusienne, especially in the Regional Luberon National Park. The city of Avignon is the center of cultural activities, its historic center is a World Heritage Site by UNESCO. His festival, the most important theatrical event in France, takes place every summer in July. There are also still many vestiges of the Roman Empire and the castles of the XV and XVI centuries. In summer, the Luberon attracts many holidaymakers looking for thrills and extreme sports outdoors. History of Vaucluse, cultures and traditions The history of the territory of the department of Vaucluse is old, with many traces of prehistoric occupations. Before the arrival of Julius Caesar,

Related destinations