Oman is a Middle Eastern Sultanate which is located south of the Arabian Peninsula. It is bordered by the Gulf of Oman, the Arabian Sea, the United Arab Emirates, Saudi Arabia and Yemen. This oil-rich countries such as Muscat capital consists of nearly 3 million Omanis. Other major cities are Matrah, Sur and Salalah. The climate is desert in the inland, but wet on the coast. In the capital, here are famous monuments to visit: the old Muscat and the French-Omani Museum or the Sultan Qaboos Grand Mosque. Identity: Form of government: Sultanate Capital: Muscat Official language: Arabic Gentilé: Omani (e), Omanis (e) Currency: Rial Omani téléponique code: + 968